UNC Health Coronavirus (COVID-19) Updates

  • No hospital visitors until further notice, with limited exceptions - Get full details
  • If you have symptoms or think you’ve been exposed, please read this before leaving home

For the most current information please visit our Coronavirus resource pages.

Hospital Ethics Committee Membership

Co-Chairs and Directors

Arlene Davis
HEC Co-Chair
Director, Clinical Consultation
Director, Ethics Education
Associate Professor, Social Medicine
Adjunct, School of Law
Gary J. Gala, MD, FACS
HEC Co-Chair
Associate Professor
Associate Chair for Education and Training
Department of Psychiatry

Benny Joyner, MD, MPH
HEC Vice Chair
Associate Director, Clinical Consultation
Associate Professor, Pediatrics, Anesthesiology, and Social Medicine
Division Chief, Pediatric Critical Care Medicine


Rebecca Forcier
Data and Service Coordinator
UNC Center for Bioethics


Ashley Benefield, MSW, LCSW, ACM
Care Manager
Clinical Care Management
UNC Hospitals
Thomas Bice, MD, MSc
Clinical Instructor
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Lizzy Burch, MSW, LCSW
Clinical Care Management
Obstetrics and Newborn Nursery
UNC Health Care
Jean Cadigan, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Social Medicine
Bruce Cairns, MD, FACS
UNC Faculty Chair
Professor, Surgery
Director, North Carolina Jaycee Burn Center
Crista Creedle, RN,BSN, OCN
Nurse Manager
Inpatient Oncology/ Hematology
NC Cancer Center Hospital
Katie Crisp, MSW, LCSW, LCASA
Inpatient Social Worker
Clinical Care Management
UNC Health Care at Wakebrook
Michelle Curl, RN, BSN, BA, CCTC
Peditric Diabetes Coordinator
N.C. Children's Hospital
UNC Hospitals
Division of Pediatric Endocrinology
Laura House, MD, MPH
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Department of Family Medicine
UNC School of Medicine
Jason Huckaby
NC Cancer Hospital Patient & Family Advisory Council Liaison
Sr. Chemical Engineer
Eastern Research Group
Doug MacKay, PhD
Assistant Professor, UNC Department of Public Policy
Shirley Massey, M.Div, BCC
Department of Pastoral Care
Chaplain Burn Center/Aftercare
Jennifer McEntee, MD, MPH, MA
Assistant Professor in Pediatrics and Internal Medicine
Paul Ossman, MD, MPH
Associate Director of Education
Division of Hospital Medicine Department of Medicine
Division of Internal Medicine
Ivan Remnitz, BBA, MA
Interpreter Services
Neil Ryan, MHA, BSRT
Clinical Manager
Respiratory Therapy
Matt Scholer, MD, PhD, FACEP
Clinical Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Martha Shackelford, RN, MPH
Clinical Compliance Manager
Performance Improvement/Patient Safety Dept.
Tina M. Vassar, RN, MSN, CS
Community Member
Amina White, MD, MA
Clinical Associate Professor
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
UNC School of Medicine
Sharon Williams, PhD
Division of Speech and Hearing Sciences
Department of Allied Health Sciences
Louise Winstanly, LLB, MSB
Consultant, Consultation and Policy Service
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Public Health Leadership Program
UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health
Co-Chair, UNC Non-Biomedical IRB
Gary Winzelberg, MD, MPH, FACP
Associate Professor
Division of Geriatric Medicine
School of Medicine

Graduate Education Members

Izzy Brassfield
HEC Trainee
UNC MD-PhD Program Candidate
Austin Bath
MS2, UNC School of Medicine
Karen Meagher, PhD
Post-doctoral Fellow, Center for Genomics and Society
Kelly Olsen
MS2, UNC School of Medicine
Erin Orth, MD
Fellow, Neonatology
Rimma Osipov, MD, PhD
Resident, Internal Medicine
Sara Scarlet, MD
Resident, Department of General Surgery
Bill Scheidler, MD
Fellow, Psychiatry
Liz Sonntag, MD
Fellow, Pulmonary and Critical Care
Susanna Thach, MD
Fellow, Hospice and Palliative Medicine
UNC Hospitals
Sam Vaillancourt, MA
Student, Physician Assistant Program
Margaret Waltz, PhD
Post-doctoral Fellow, Center for Genomics and Society

Ex Officios

Ian Buchanan, MD, MPH
Vice President, Cancer and Children’s Services
UNC Health Care
Sarah Fotheringham, JD
Associate General Counsel, UNC Health Care System
Legal Department
Eric Juengst, PhD
Director, Center for Bioethics
Professor, Department of Social Medicine
Christian Lawson, MBA, BSN, RN
Director of Emergency Services
UNC Hospitals
Tony Lindsey, MD
Executive Associate Dean,
Clinical Affairs and Chief of Staff, School of Medicine
Shane Rogers
Director of Patient Relations and Interpreter Services
UNC Health Care
Dalton Sawyer, MS, CHEP
Director, Emergency Preparedness and Continuity Planning
UNC Health Care
Marcia Van Riper, RN, PhD, FAAN
Professor and Chair Family Health Division
School of Nursing
Carolina Center for Genome Studies