Published on March 15, 2017

Dr. Sidney C. Smith, Jr. Recognized With American College of Cardiology Top Honor

Smith, Jr. to be presented with Master of the ACC Award at ACC’s 66th Annual Scientific Session

CHAPEL HILL, NC - Sidney C. Smith, Jr., MD, FACC, has been awarded the 2017 Master of the ACC Award by the American College of Cardiology in honor of contributions to the cardiovascular profession. Smith, Jr. will be recognized for these achievements along with all 2017 Distinguished Award winners at the Convocation Ceremony on March 19 during the ACC’s 66th Annual Scientific Session in Washington.

Dr. Smith is a professor in the University of North Carolina School of Medicine and a clinician in the UNC Center for Heart and Vascular Care.

“Dr. Smith, Jr.’s invaluable contributions to the field of cardiovascular medicine show unparalleled dedication to excellence and boundless commitment to improving patient care,” said ACC President Richard Chazal, MD, FACC. “It is a privilege to be able to honor Dr. Smith, Jr. with the Master of the ACC Award and celebrate his contributions to and achievements in cardiology.”

The Master of the ACC Award recognizes and honors Fellows of the American College of Cardiology who have consistently contributed to the goals and programs of the College and who have provided leadership in important College activities. MACCs have been members of the College for at least 15 years and have served with distinction and provided leadership on various College programs and committees.

Dr. Smith received his medical degree from Yale Medical School and completed his medical internship, residency, and cardiology fellowship at the Peter Bent Brigham (now Brigham and Women’s) Hospital/Harvard Medical School in Boston, MA. Dr. Smith is a past president of the American Heart Association (AHA) and the World Heart Federation (WHF). Among his many honors include the AHA Physician of the Year Award, AHA Distinguished National Leadership Award, AHA Gold Heart Award, AHA Eugene Drake Award and the NHLBI/NIH Award of Special Recognition. Dr. Smith has authored or co-authored more than 350 published papers and chapters and has served on the editorial boards for the Journal of Cardiovascular Medicine, Journal of Clinical and Experimental Cardiology, Journal of the American College of Cardiology and Circulation. Each year since 1998, he has been elected to Best Doctors in America.

Eighteen Distinguished Awards will be presented at the Annual Scientific Session this year, each recognizing an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the field of cardiovascular medicine. Recipients are nominated by their peers and then selected by the American College of Cardiology Awards Committee.

The American College of Cardiologyis a 52,000-member medical society that is the professional home for the entire cardiovascular care team. The mission of the College is to transform cardiovascular care and to improve heart health. The ACC leads in the formation of health policy, standards and guidelines. The College operates national registries to measure and improve care, offers cardiovascular accreditation to hospitals and institutions, provides professional medical education, disseminates cardiovascular research and bestows credentials upon cardiovascular specialists who meet stringent qualifications. For more, visit